SIGMA KAPPA Sigma Kappa

Give

38 | Acknowledging Our Past, Behind the Scenes with the History Task Force

Posted: 04/22/2022 | 10:04 AM

Join us on this episode of The Lowdown podcast for our conversation with Christy Nielson and Allison Parker from the History Task Force. They discuss the research and behind the scenes work that went into the release of the winter issue of the Sigma Kappa Triangle, Acknowledging The Past, Looking Forward to the Future.

This issue of the Sigma Kappa Triangle discusses Sigma Kappa's history from our founding until today and details some painful episodes in Sigma Kappa's past, as well as points of pride for our organization and ways Sigma Kappa is making amends. It is important to bring these issues into the open so that we can learn, grow, and avoid repeating the mistakes of the past on our journey to becoming a more inclusive organization.

 

Episode Notes

Resources 

Acknowledging the Past Follow-Up

We know some of our members have been impacted by exclusionary and discriminatory practices and invite those of marginalized identities and allies to join a focus group to share their experiences. This will be a space for members to respectfully and safely talk about their lived experiences.

Links to register can be found in the latest issue of the the LowDown. Additional sessions will be added as the meetings reach capacity.

  • Thursday, May 5 – 11 p.m. EST/8 p.m. PST
  • Monday, May 9 – 8:30 p.m. EST/5:30 p.m. PST
  • Wednesday, May 11 – 8:30 p.m. EST/5:30 p.m. PST

   

Posted in: Higher Education